The Hand Written Letter

The Hand Written Letter

For those of us that value the ancient practice – which includes me – a hand written letter can be one of the most meaningful possessions you can ever have.  There’s something about a handwritten letter – knowing that someone spent the time and effort to write you a message – that is inherently significant and powerful.  You feel that a part of that person’s essence is on the paper and in the ink.  Letters can tug at your emotional heartstrings and they are way more impactful than anything a printer, electronic display or Times New Roman could ever convey.

This is why I value the hand written letter given to me by Carter’s Great, Great Grandmother.  A couple of year’s ago on the last day of class, when all of the graduation festivities came to an end and I was saying the final good-byes to children and families, Carter’s grandmother approached me.  I usually talked with her in the morning during drop-off time and at the end of the day during pick-up.  We had very limited communication.  So, you can imagine my surprise when she handed me a letter.  She said, “Thank you for everything you’ve done for Carter.”  We talked a little more and then she left.  When everyone was gone and the classroom was empty, I read this…

Gilbert,

You have been a wonderful example and roll model for boys and girls of your class.  They would like to grow up like their first teacher Gilbert.  There has been a great change for the better in the actions and attitude of four year old Carter.  In just ten months of listening and watching you, he desires to dress like you.  He gets his clothes together before bed time.

The one thing that is amazing is when he arrives home from school, he enjoys teaching me, on different subjects, standing like you, walking like you, talking like you and using his hands the way he has seen you move, as if he is a teacher or a professor.  I just sit quietly and listen to his vocabulary in amazement.  This is what I call “a job well done” in giving him an early head start.  Thank you so much for all your hard work.  I know it has not been easy.

Love, peace, joy, happiness, and good health always,

Great, Great Grandma of Carter.

I sat back in my chair, looked up, and just stared blankly into the classroom.  I felt touched. I felt honored.  I felt all kinds of emotions.  The feeling of goodness was too overwhelming.  I cried.  And Grandma’s gratitude didn’t stop with me, but she wrote a letter for my co-teacher, center director and some other staff members.  All of us were touched.  All of us felt honored.  All of us felt like we had made a difference.  To my knowledge, we’ve all held onto her letter.  I keep her letter as a reminder of why I teach preschool.

And, if anyone one was wondering, yes, I cried writing this post.

Leave a Reply

