18 Plus 8 Equals Insomnia

If you’re awake for 18 hours and require 8 hours of sleep, then you mess up your sleep schedule.  That’s where I am right now.

The late evening offers me my own Fortress of Solitude to write, read or review my photographs.  And, since my wife goes to bed around 9:30pm, I can watch Sports Center to my heart’s content.  However, since I’m not spending my day in a preschool classroom, when midnight comes around, I’m not tired.  Here’s an example of my wake-up times to my bedtime…

Monday: 7:30am – 2:00am

Tuesday: 9:30am – 2:30am

Wednesday: 10:30am – 3:45am

Thursday: 10:15am – 4:00am

Friday: 11:15am – 5:30am

I’ve laid still – in bed – until 3am and I’m still wide awake.  I’ve read in the dark with my Kindle Paperwhite.  I’ll lay down on the couch and watch the 5th re-run of Sports Center.  I’ll go for a jog or hike during the day.  I’ve even taken sleep aides (but I don’t like taking medications… typical guy?)  Doesn’t work.  Nothing exhausts me more than working 8-hours in a preschool classroom.

The only “solution” that has worked has been having my wife be an alarm clock.  On the weekend, Kaitlyn will wake me up around 9:30am, regardless of what time I went to bed the night before.  And, as you can see from my schedule, that means I get – maybe – 4 hours of sleep.  I’ll be so tired from lack of sleep that I’m crashing by 8:30pm.  However, if it’s 9:30 in the morning – and your wife has made you breakfast and coffee – you’d wake up too.  This is by no means a long-term solution but, until I get back to work, not sure what else will help.

Over the next couple of days, my wife and I will be going on our first camping trip: 3 days and 2 nights.  We both think that hiking and being outdoors all day will be physically exhausting enough for me to fall asleep naturally.  I hope so.

2 thoughts on “18 Plus 8 Equals Insomnia

Leave a Reply

