2014

IMG_20131231_185314

On the last day of 2013, I spent some time at the Chicago airport.  The plane had been delayed three times, but my wife and I were still going to be in San Francisco before the clock struck midnight (according to the Pacific time zone, of course).

Surprise after surprise after surprise best describes 2013. I jumped from one focus to another, briefly able to process what just happened, what is happening, and what is going to happen. The ability to lock-on to multiple targets have been a hallmark of 2013, especially the past four months.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?… maybe… faith that everything happens for a reason helps out too. 

I exit 2013 stronger than how I entered. For that, I’m very grateful.  2014 is going to be different (and I’m not just talking about becoming a father in two months).  Time-off begs reflection.  Time slows down for a moment for a gasp of breath to ask yourself “How did I get here and where do I go from here?”

Possible answer…

“Strength itself becomes your morality” – from Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

2014 doesn’t show any letup of responsibilities, but there is a locomotive of strength and faith coming out of the tunnel of 2013.  What this means for early childhood, leadership, and advocacy… well, let’s wait and see.

Here we go.

Leave a Reply

