Coffee with my Cream

Coffee Mug Color
My favorite coffee mug.  

There were many themes for my wedding, but one of them was a no-brainer for my wife and I.  Coffee.  Our wedding favors were chocolate covered coffee beans with the message “She was the cream to his coffee”.

Since my wife and I both work in education, coffee is required part of the day.

Maybe it’s a part of yours?  Let’s find out.  Have you ever driven all the way to your school and sit at your desk, then get a sinking pit in your stomach as you realize that your freshly brewed cup of coffee was left in a travel mug on the kitchen counter?

Been there. Sad times.

Coffee is that extra kick in the morning.  My teachers know when I haven’t had my coffee in the morning.  My normal “Good morning” is a moan or grunt.  I’m physically at school at 8am, but my brain arrives at 9:30am.

Come to find out, I’m not the only one that needs this caffeine jolt in the morning.  I’ve spoken with many teachers and many of them have their own vices:

  • Coca-cola
  • Black Tea
  • Diet Coke (I’ve seen this one a lot!)
  • Green Tea
  • Water (probably the best for you)

This doesn’t surprise me because educators need that oomph in their step.  I need coffee just to function.  The kiddos notice.

But coffee gets expensive and I don’t have a ton of money to fund my habit.  Especially creamer.  I can’t drink coffee straight.  I like my coffee a light brown and extra sweet.

My wife says I like to add a little coffee to my cream.

So, I looked online and found this…

Homemade Coffee Creamer from Here

Vanilla Creamer
Sweetened Condensed Milk, 14 oz can
Almond Milk with Vanilla Flavoring 14 oz.
1 Tablespoon of vanilla flavoring

Hazelnut
1-2 tablespoons Hazelnut extract (instead of vanilla)

Irish Creme
2 tablespoons chocolate syrup
1 teaspoon instant coffee
1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract

I’m gonna try it out.  And for all my other educator coffee aficionados, let me know what you think too.  Love my coffee!

Leave a Reply

