1 Year Anniversary

One Year Anniversary Banner 02-01

Back in January 2013…

Me: “I just don’t want to do something corporate or make this about other agendas.”

In my gut, I felt the meeting was moving in that direction. Starting a blog had been on my mind for awhile. I thought working with this group would be the way to start. I began to think I was wrong.

I felt others agreed with me.  These blogs and posts should be pure from the classroom; to promote the students and teachers. But then, the meeting ended. People began to leave. I left too. Not just the meeting, but the project all together.

I’m just going to start writing on my own and see what happens.

A couple of weeks later, on January 28, 2013, I went to WordPress and opened an account. The site asked me for the name of my blog…

“Gilbert H. Cardenas – A Guy in Preschool”

At the time, I had only one task on my agenda: promote early childhood by sharing stories from the classroom. I was fueled by personal conviction and chip on my shoulder. Some of my early writings were fueled by angst.

But when that fuel ran out, the ideas stopped flowing. With a clearer mind, I searched for other topics.

There is more to early childhood.

Classroom activities, lesson plans and even how my own early childhood experiences shaped the teacher and person I am all became content to write about.

Then the blog took a swift turn and became something I didn’t expect; it became personal. When something major happens to you, it colors all other areas of your life (including what you write).  The blog started becoming about not just me, but the life of one teacher… one male preschool teacher.

At the close of the 2013 Summer, the blog became more well-roundedand rightfully so.

Teachers are a unique kind of professional.

If a child is to keep alive his inborn sense of wonder, he needs the companionship of at least one adult who can share it, rediscovering with him the joy, the excitement, and the mystery of the world we live in. – Rachel Carlson

On January 28, 2013, I felt that my personal life should remain separate from the posts in this blog. I was wrong. That separation – between professional and personal – would be one of the greatest betrayals I could do to the early childhood field. For the men and women of early childhood education – people who have spent their entire lives working in one of the most under-appreciated fields in the United States – their profession is personal.

Today is January 28, 2014 and this blog continued and matured.  I’m taken-aback that people read what I write.  The thought is humbling and I’m grateful.  The agenda is still the same: to promote the wonderful world of early childhood education.  I’m eager to see where this blog goes next.

Happy Anniversary, A Guy in Preschool!

4 thoughts on “1 Year Anniversary

  1. This is a wonderful post, I am so glad you kept it up!

    I have just started my journy into ece, and find it really troubling that 100% of students are female in my program. Not a single man.

    I read your Pink Slipped… Kinda post too. Don’t ttransfer to admin or university. You are where you are supposed to be, and where you are doing the most important work. Children need positive male role-models so badly, and we cannot afford to lose even 1 of you 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. There are always difficult decisions to make. I did end up taking the administration role, but I do find ways to be in the classroom and interact with the children. However, more male influences are needed, whether in the classroom and/or through increased father involvement programs.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading this post. I also want to give others great ideas and advise on early childhood and showcase some of the activities happening in my room. I’ve been giving more thought to going a bit more personal in my posts and I will see where it leads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

