Get Hit, Move Forward

movies-rocky-balboa-actors-sylvester-stallone-rocky-italian-stallion

There are few film series that I enjoy more than the Rocky movies, which were released between 1976-1990.  When I was child, my dad had the VHS versions of the film.  I would watch them over and over again.  The underdog from the streets, no one thinking that he could reach the top, gets a chance, and takes the world by storm.  Throughout his entire journey, he works hard and pushes himself to be the best he can be.

Except Rocky III, but Rocky learned his lesson.

The latest Rocky film – Rocky Balboa – came out in 2006.  Now, I had my concerns like everyone else; maybe a little too old to be in the boxing ring.  Nevertheless, I put those concerns aside and watched anyways.  And, I actually like the film.  I liked seeing the Rocky character still living and breathing on the streets of Philadelphia.

And, it’s from this latest film, I heard this quote

The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place, and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward; how much you can take and keep moving forward.

I’m reminded by this quote often. Last year, around this time, I found out that I would be unemployed for the summer.  My wife and I made it work.  I was pink-slipped a teacher, but hired as a preschool center supervisor; and I came back stronger.

This year, well, Deju vu.  Although, there are differences.  I have a son this time around.  And, fortunately, unemployment is not my only option.

Now, let’s change gears slightly.

Early childhood educators are some of the lowest paid professionals in the United States.  Flat out lowest.  Although some of us work with some of the neediest families and communities, preschool teachers are not too far behind the people and children they serve.

Parallel poverty?

Now, I live in San Francisco where early childhood educator’s income are some of the best in the country.  But, you live in San Francisco where, besides New York, you’re paying out the nose for rent.

But, whatever the case, early childhood educators are still around. Besides low income, they’re making it work. They work extra hours, pick-up another job, baby sit; they take the hits, they keep moving forward.

Now, let’s bring it back to my situation.

Not many males are in early childhood.  Why?  Here’s one: income.  There are some families where the wife works in early childhood, but the husband works in another field – which usually is higher paid, offers good benefits, and is the main source of income.  Well, in my family, my main source IS early childhood.

This summer, I see the pink-slipped punch coming.  If I were Rocky, well, that would mean I’m taking it right in the face.  Well, that’s not me.  I’m jiving and juking.  It’s the nature of an early childhood professional.  Get hit, move forward.

Let’s see where I end up this summer.

One thought on “Get Hit, Move Forward

Leave a Reply

