Theories of Attachment

Infant and Toddlers have become my life.  I/T knowledge is important in my personal life and became important in my professional.  I’ve been searching the Internet, collected some books, and asked my wife and other professionals about what I should do to learn more about these littlest of little people.  Out of all the resources I’ve acquired, this is the one I’m starting with.

DSC05741
Theories of Attachment: An Introduction to Bowlby, Ainsworth, Gerber, Brazelton, Kennell & Klaus by Carol Garhart Mooney

Every early childhood educator knows that the emotional attitude of a parent toward a child has life-shaping effects. But did you know that at one point, it was once considered a brand new idea?  Well, we can thank Bowlby for that brain buster.

Although these theories focus on infants and toddlers, I’m making a lot of connections to preschool aged children.  It’s kind of like how preschool teachers see a 3-5 year old and then makes connections to how the child will be in K-12.  Yeh, this book is helping me make those kind of connections.  I’m still reading through this, but this a book I can easily recommend.  If you want the foundational theories of human attachment, you need to know these names.  Check out the book here on Amazon.

One thought on “Theories of Attachment

Leave a Reply

