2 Year Anniversary

Two Year Anniversary Banner 02-01

A lot can change in a short period of time.  That’s the number one thing I think about as I celebrate my blog’s b-day – numero dos.

When I began this blog two years ago, I was a preschool teacher, newly wed, and beginning my graduate school experience.

When I wrote my one year anniversary blog post, I was a preschool center manager expecting his first child and graduate school was in full swing.

Today, at the two year anniversary, I have a graduate degree, I’m a father, an adjunct faculty early childhood instructor at a community college, and I’m adapting to a brand new city – moving from San Francisco to Pittsburgh.

2014 was a crap load of stress.  I was a new preschool center manager, which came with long hours, steep learning curve, and ridiculous amounts of paperwork.  Then I was let go from the job, and resigned another job later in the year.  At home, I was learning how to become a father.  However, I was most concerned about how to support a family with financial instability.  Finally, I was reading, researching and attending graduate classes two nights a week.  The pressure and stress took tolls on me – mentally and physically.  Yet, through all of that, I survived – and survival really is the appropriate word here.

In my One Year Anniversary post, I claimed that I would write more about what was going on with me, giving depth and dimension to one preschool educator’s blog.  Little did I know how much that post would foreshadow the turbulent year I had.  I wrote about these difficult changes and stressors, although I shared remedies and anecdotes about how I was handling the challenges, it’s hard to argue that writing wasn’t part of the recovery.  Still, I made it and I’m stronger for it.  You know that quote, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”?  Well, I heard another one; one about pressure.  “Pressure can burst pipes, but they can also make diamonds.”  Cheesy perhaps, but brought a smile to my face.

2015 is still new.  I don’t know what will happen.  I won’t make any predictions either.  I hope it’s easier though.  And I hope it’s more stable – financially and professionally at least.  2014 will remain one of the most challenging years I’ve ever gone through.  Yet, it’s also the year my son was born.  So, through it all, there was a diamond after all.

Year 3 of “A Guy In Preschool” in 2015 from Pittsburgh, PA.

Leave a Reply

