Monday

hdr_monday

Next Monday, I start my new position, working to serve our young learners in Pittsburgh.

Monday’s are usually dreaded. No one looks forward to the first day of work week. Your mind is numb from two days off. (Work? What’s that?) You complain like a child. If you could, you’d lie on the ground kicking and punching the air. Monday.

That’s why everyone loves the weekend. 48 hours of freedom. The weekend is when you do the fun stuff, the things you really want to do. Whatever you do on the weekend, it’s the opposite of what you do at work.

Weekends are too fast. That’s why they start Fridays an hour before work ends. Then you have Saturday, which feels like the only true full day off. Then there are Sunday mornings. After the afternoon transition where you’re reminded you have work the next day, you have Sunday night (a.k.a. Pre-Monday). Then it’s downhill from there.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a weekend. True, I’ve been unemployed so everyday day should be a fiesta. But that makes everyday like the weekend. Mornings and nights are blurred. You ask yourself, “What’s the date. You know, the number?” Saturday and Sunday just aren’t special anymore.

Plus there is nothing fun about being unemployed. No one likes to be without work. You kind of wish you had somewhere to be between 9 to 5 during the week. When everyone says, “Yay, it’s the weekend,” you’re like, “Yay… I’m already here… waiting for you… because I have no job.”

Like most of us, I’ll spend this weekend doing fun stuff. I will spend it with family, savoring my last few moments of freedom. But I won’t be celebrating my freedom from work. I will be celebrating my freedom from unemployment.

I can’t wait to start my new position.

I can’t wait for this weekend to end.

I can’t wait for Monday.

3 thoughts on “Monday

Leave a Reply

