Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann

dsc02618.jpg

Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann is a book I often read to my son at night. Although I’m sure he likes seeing all of the animals, I think it’s more about how, when I read the story, it’s a different adventure each time.

There are few words to this book. In fact, you’ll be saying “good night” and animal names throughout the book. So, if you’re looking for a lot of vocabulary, you may not feel that it’s here.

However, there is plenty of vocabulary. With no words, there are opportunities to add your own words. You know, take the story further by adding your own quotes.

dsc02619.jpg

For example, I have the baby gorilla talk up a storm. When I read this book to my son, the baby gorilla is constantly laughing and giggling, because he knows he’s getting away with what’s going on. I’ll say “You want out baby elephant? You got it! How about you little armadillo? There you go!”

Fun little, creative asides makes wordless (or mostly wordless) books interesting and entertaining. You can have creative freedom to make each reading a little unique each time.

Purchase the book at Amazon

Leave a Reply

