One of the most amazing things I have ever seen was the Grand Canyon. If you’ve ever been there, it’s more than just a big hole in the ground. It’s so vast and deep that, to look at it in person, you feel like you’re going to be sucked in.

iStock_000042545368_Full.jpg

As an adult, there have been moments when I’ve been put into a state of wonder. When I went to London, England for the first time, that was amazing. The first time I saw my wife in her wedding dress. There are a couple of technology creations that take me aback because I can’t quite figure out how it was made or how it works.

However, despite all of the things that leave me in awe as an adult, it doesn’t compare to the numerous times I was put into a state of wonder when I was a child.

wonder (noun). a feeling of surprise mingled with admiration, caused by something beautiful, unexpected, unfamiliar, or inexplicable

How do magic card tricks work? How do fireworks go into the air? How do things glow in the dark? Why can I see small things with a microscope? How does that orange Nintendo blaster work with the tv?

Wikipedia_Nes_Zapper.jpg
Even today, I still don’t understand how it works.

Perhaps, as an adult, I just know more and can figure out how something works. I don’t know how my smartphone works, but I know enough to where touching a glass surface to trigger a text message to someone across the world doesn’t amaze me anymore. And, I think I’ve taken this concept for granted because I never really thought, “Wow, text messages are pretty amazing.”

Still, there is plenty of ideas, structures, and images, that can leave me in wonder today. So, why don’t I seek these out? Why can’t I make time during my day to feel this emotion? Probably because it isn’t really important to me. However, wonder is such a wonderful feeling, like joy, love, and excitement.

Children are constantly in a state of wonder. Everything is an exploration. Every day is a discovery. Their daily lives must be amazing.

It’s sad to think that, as we grow older, we tend to lose the feeling of wonder. We figure out how something works or we generally understand why something is happening. However, we don’t seek wonder. Not like we did as children.

If you work with young children, put yourself in a state of wonder now and then, because this is what they feel. Explore something you’ve always wanted to see. There are even times when I just sit and think (meditate) that I can trigger wonder myself. Heck, bring something to the classroom that will evoke the emotion out of the kiddos.

Allow yourself to wonder and amaze.

Leave a Reply

